CORRECTED AND ADOPTED

IN THE HONORABLE SUPREME COURT OF THE REPUBLIC OF LIBERIA MARCH TERM, A.D. 2017

PRESENT:	HIS HONOR FRANCIS S. KORKPOR, SR.,	CHIEF JUSTICE
"	HIS HONOR KABINEH M. JA'NEH,	ASSOCIATE JUSTICE
"	HER HONOR JAMESETTA H. WOLOKOLIE,	ASSOCIATE JUSTICE
"	HIS HONOR PHILIP A. Z. BANKS, III.,	ASSOCIATE JUSTICE
"	HER HONOR SIE-A-NYENE G. YUOH	ASSOCIATE JUSTICE

MONDAY, MARCH 13, 2017 <u>1ST DAY'S SESSION- OPENING CEREMONY</u>

The formal opening of the Honorable Supreme Court of the Republic of Liberia, sitting in its March Term 2017, was held in the Chambers of the Supreme Court on Monday, March 13, 2017, at the hour of 9:00 a.m., under the gavel of His Honor Francis S. Korkpor, Sr., Chief Justice, Supreme Court of Liberia.

His Honor Kabineh M. Ja'neh, travelled.

<u>JUDGES PRESENT</u>: James E. Jones, J. Vinton Holder, Johannese Z. Zlahn, Roosevelt D. Willie, Chan Chan Paegar, Ceaineh C. Johnson, Richard S. Klah, Sr., and Comfort S. Natt.

Winston Tubman, Henry Reed Cooper, Emmanuel COUNSELLORS PRESENT: R. Berry, Momolu V. Sackor Sirleaf, Pearl Brown Bull, Osborne K. Diggs, Jr., Clarence E. Dixon, Theophilus C. Gould, Cyril Jones, Harrietta Badio, Joseph Sekum, Sylvester Gbaintor, Benedict F. Sannoh, Oswald N. Tweh, Nyenati Tuan, Mathias Omejai, Elizabeth J. Nelson, Farmere G. Stubblefield, Thompson N. Jargba, F. Musa Dean, Sr., Tiawan S. Gongloe, Beyan D. Howard, Charles Abdullai, James C. R. Flomo, Annie Wesley Swen, Ambrose N. Tapleh, G. Moses Paegar, Whoatonia Dixon Barnes, J. Johnny Momoh, Othello S. Payman, I, Samuel W. Nyanzeebuo, Milton D. Taylor, Albert S. Sims, Lemuel E. A. Reeves, Sr., Muna C. Sio, Dickson N. Doe, Nelson B. Chineh, Powo C. Hilton, J. Daku Mulbah, F. Jowah Lawson, Charles D. F. Karmo, II., Zaiye B. Dehkee, Kathleen P. Makor, Samuel T. K. Kortimai, Amara Sheriff, James N. Kumeh, Deweh E. Gray, Christine Sonpon Freeman, Lawrence Yeakula, Serene F. Garlawolu, George D. W. Segbeh, Sr., J. Bima Lansanah, Gbuuvia K. Kolubah, Eric Morlue, Sunifu S. Sheriff, Vivian Johns Cherue, Moifie Kanneh, Esther H. Barclay, Paul Philip Jarvan, John A. A. Gabriel, Ernestine Morgan Awar, J. Fonati Koffa, Tobay J. Raynes, Bushuben M. Keita, David W. Woah, J. Kennedy Peabody, Joseph M. Kollie, Swaliho A. Sesay, Charles K. Harris, Jomah S. Jallah, Finley Y. Karngar, Mamee S. Gonbah, Jerry D. K. Garlawolo, Joyce Reeves Woods, Samuel Y. Zaza, Joseph F. Harris, Abrahim B. Sillah, Sr., Luther N. Yorfee, Michael I. Diggs, Edwin G. Barquoi, T. Joseph B. Debblay, Jeddi M. Armah, Festus K. Nowon, Philip Y. Gongloe, Mark M. M. Marvey, Jerome B. Kolleh, Uzoma N. Ebeku, Rodney P. Kuow, Cornelius F. Wennah, E. Gidu Johnson, D. Anthony Mason, Jura A. Lynch, Gartor Tate, Edwin K. Martin, Peter Y. Kerkula, Bornor Massamai Varmah, Wellington Blea Bedell, Sr., Bhatur C. Holmes Varmah, Eugene L. Massaquoi, Robertson P. Mehn, Stanley S. Kparkillen, Nelson S. Jallah, Patrick J. Nah, William Moore Johnson, Jonathan T. Massaquoi, T. Ciapha Carey. Ernest F. B. Bana, Tweh Wesseh, Sr., Cecilia Grandoe Rogers, Clarence N. Weah, Lawrence Wah Jackson, Frederick L. M. Gbemie.

Upon the arrival of the Chief Justice and Associate Justices to their seats of Honor, the Marshal was ordered to cry the opening of the March 2017 Term of the Honorable Supreme Court of the Republic of Liberia and same was done in keeping with practice and procedure.

Her Honor Sie-A-Nyene G. Yuoh, ordered Rev. J. Joel Gould, Chaplain, Supreme Court of Liberia to lead the Court in devotion and same was executed.

His Honor Philip A. Z. Banks, III, ordered the Clerk to read: (a) The Roll of Chief Justices and Associates Justices; (b) the Honor Roll of Counsellors of the Supreme Court Bar and (c) the Roll of practicing lawyers of the Supreme Court Bar; and each member present was expected to respond.

Next, the Liberia Premier Choral Society was called to render a selection.

Her Honor Jamesetta Howard Wolokolie ordered the Marshal to maintain perfect decorum in the Courtroom while the Chief Justice, His Honor Francis S. Korkpor, Sr., delivered his opening address.

Attached is a copy of the Chief Justice's opening address.

Her Honor Jamesetta Howard Wolokolie ordered a pause for response from the Dean of the Supreme Court Bar and the President of the Liberian National Bar Association.

The Minister of Justice and Dean of the Supreme Court Bar, Counsellor Frederick D. Cherue, and the President of the Liberian National Bar Association, responded to the Opening Address of the Chief Justice. Thereafter, the Liberia Premier Choral Society was called upon to render another selection. Attached is a copy of the Minister of Justice/Attorney General's response.

The Chief Justice then mandated the Clerk to inform the President of the Republic of Liberia, the Speaker of the House of Representatives and the President Pro Tempore of the Liberian Senate, that the Supreme Court of Liberia has convened in its March Term A. D. 2017.

At this juncture, the Court Administrator invited guests and all in attendance to a reception with the Chief Justice and Associate Justices at the Banquet Hall on the 6^{th} Floor of the Temple of Justice.

Thereafter, the Marshal was ordered to adjourn the Day's session to resume subject to call. And said order was executed.

Respectfully Submitted:

Atty. Sam Mamulu ACTG. CLERK, SUPREME COURT, R.L.