CORRECTED AND ADOPTED

IN THE HONORABLE SUPREME COURT OF THE REPUBLIC OF LIBERIA MARCH TERM, A.D. 2018

| PRESENT: | HIS HONOR FRANCIS S. KORKPOR, SR., | CHIEF JUSTICE |
|----------|-------------------------------------|-------------------|
| " | HIS HONOR KABINEH M. JA'NEH, | ASSOCIATE JUSTICE |
| " | HER HONOR JAMESETTA H. WOLOKOLIE, | ASSOCIATE JUSTICE |
| " | HIS HONOR PHILIP A. Z. BANKS, III., | ASSOCIATE JUSTICE |
| | HER HONOR SIE-A-NYENE G. YUOH, | ASSOCIATE JUSTICE |

MONDAY, MARCH 12, 2018 1ST DAY'S SESSION- OPENING CEREMONY

The formal opening of the Honorable Supreme Court of the Republic of Liberia, sitting in its March Term 2018, was held in the Chambers of the Supreme Court on Monday, March 12, 2018, at the hour of 9:00 a.m., under the gavel of His Honor Francis S. Korkpor, Sr., Chief Justice, Supreme Court of Liberia.

<u>JUDGES PRESENT</u>: Eva Mappy Morgan, Karboi K. Nuta, A. Blamo Dixon, Sr., Sikijipo A. Wollor, Serena F. Galawolu, James E. Jones, William B. Sando, J. Vinton Holder, Roosevelt D. Willie, Chan Chan Paegar, Richard S. Klah, Sr., Comfort S. Natt, Muna C. Sio, Nelson B. Chineh, J. Kennedy Peabody, Ernest Flomo B. Bana, Tweh Wesseh, Sr., Cecelia Grandoe Rogers, Clarence N. Weah, Lawrence Wah Jackson, and Joseph F. Harris.

<u>OFFICIALS OF GOVERNMENT PRESENT</u>: His Excellency George Manneh Weah, President of the Republic of Liberia, Honorable Bhofal Chambers, Speaker of the House of Representatives of the 54th Legislature, and Senator Albert Chie, Senate Pro-tempore of the Liberian Senate.

<u>COUNSELLORS PRESENT</u>: Winston Tubman, Henry Reed Cooper, Emmanuel R. Berry, Momolu V. Sackor Sirleaf, Pearl Brown Bull, Osborne K. Diggs, Jr., Clarence E. Dixon, Cyril Jones, , Benedict F. Sannoh, Elizabeth J. Nelson, , Thompson N. Jargba, F. Musa Dean, Sr., Tiawan S. Gongloe, Annie Wesley Swen, G. Moses Paegar, Milton D. Taylor, Lemuel E. A. Reeves, Sr., Dickson N. Doe, Powo C. Hilton, J. Daku Mulbah, F. Jowah Lawson, Charles D. F. Karmo, II.,Zaiye B. Dehkee, Samuel T. K. Kortimai, Amara Sheriff, James N. Kumeh, Lawrence Yeakula, , George D. W. Segbeh, Sr., J. Bima Lansanah, Gbuuvia K. Kolubah, Eric B. Morlue, Sunifu S. Sheriff, Vivian Johns Cherue, Moifie Kanneh, Esther H. Barclay, Paul Philip Jarvan, John A. A. Gabriel, Ernestine Morgan Awar, J. Fonati Koffa, Bushuben M. Keita, , Joseph M. Kollie, Swaliho A. Sesay, Charles K. Harris, Jerry D. K. Garlawolo, Joyce Reeves Woods, Charles Abdullai, Joseph F. Harris, Abrahim B. Sillah, Sr., Luther N. Yorfee, Edwin G. Barquoi, T. Joseph B. Debblay, Jeddi M. Armah, , Philip Y. Gongloe, Uzoma N. Ebeku, Rodney P. Kuow, Cornelius F. Wennah, E. Gidu Johnson, D. Anthony Mason, Jura A. Lynch, Gartor Tate, Edwin K. Martin, Peter Y. Kerkula, Bornor, Massamai Varmah, Wellington Blea Bedell, Sr., Bhatur C. Holmes Varmah, Eugene L. Massaquoi, Robertson P. Mehn, Stanley S. Kparkillen, Nelson S. Jallah, Patrick J. Nah, William Moore Johnson, Jonathan T. Massaquoi, T. Ciapha Carey, Frederick L. M. Gbemie, Isaac S. Wiles, Willie D. Barclay, Aaron B. Kparkillen, M. Dedor-Wla Freeman, Sundaiway E. N. Amegashie, James G. Innis, D. Onesimus Banwon, Emmanuel T. Reeves, Joseph P. Gibson, Necular Y. Edwards, Morris Y. Massaquoi, Ernest F. B. Bana, Gartor Tate, Amos Y. Bartue, J. Augustine Toe, Denise S. Sokan, A. Nsubuisi Nwabukide, Jallah A. Barbu, James A. A. Pierre, II., S. Gayah Karmo and Peter W. Howard.

Upon the arrival of the Chief Justice and Associate Justices to their seats of Honor, the Marshal was ordered to cry the opening of the March 2018 Term of the Honorable Supreme Court of the Republic of Liberia and same was done in keeping with practice and procedure.

Her Honor Sie-A-Nyene G. Yuoh, ordered Rev. J. Joel Gould, Chaplain, Supreme Court of Liberia to lead the Court in devotion and same was executed.

His Honor Philip A. Z. Banks, III, ordered the Clerk to read: (a) The Roll of Chief Justices and Associates Justices; (b) the Honor Roll of Counsellors of the Supreme Court Bar and (c) the Roll of practicing lawyers of the Supreme Court Bar; and each member present was expected to respond.

Next, the St. Stephen Episcopal Church Choir was called to render a selection.

His Honor Kabineh M. Ja'neh ordered the Marshal to maintain perfect decorum in the Courtroom while the Chief Justice, His Honor Francis S. Korkpor, Sr., delivered his opening address. Attached is a copy of the Chief Justice's opening address.

Her Honor Jamesetta Howard Wolokolie ordered a pause for response from the Dean of the Supreme Court Bar and the President of the Liberian National Bar Association.

The Minister of Justice and Dean of the Supreme Court Bar, Counsellor Frank Musah Dean, Jr., and the President of the Liberian National Bar Association, responded to the Opening Address of the Chief Justice. Thereafter, the Stephen Episcopal Church Choir was called upon to render another selection. Attached are copies of the responses of the Minister of Justice/Attorney General, Republic of Liberia, and the President of the Liberian National Bar Association.

The Chief Justice then mandated the Clerk to inform the President of the Republic of Liberia, the Speaker of the House of Representatives and the President Pro Tempore of the Liberian Senate, that the Supreme Court of Liberia has convened in its March Term A. D. 2018.

At this juncture, the Court Administrator invited guests and all in attendance to a reception with the Chief Justice and Associate Justices at the Banquet Hall on the 6th Floor of the Temple of Justice.

Thereafter, the Marshal was ordered to adjourn the Day's session to resume subject to call. And said order was executed.

Respectfully Submitted:

Atty. Sam Mamulu ACTG. CLERK, SUPREME COURT, R.L.