Office of the Jury Management


The Constitution of the Republic of Liberia, for the purpose of promoting unity, liberty, peace, stability, equality, justice and human rights under the rule of law, has enshrined the fundamental rights of all persons living within the Republic in Chapter III of said constitution. More importantly, article 20 (a) of the constitution provides that “no person shall be deprived of life, liberty, security of the person, property, privilege or any other right except as the outcome of a hearing judgment consistent with the provisions laid down in this constitution and in accordance with due process of law. Justice shall be done without sale, denial or delay; and all cases not arising in courts not of record, under courts-martial and upon impeachment, the parties shall have the right to trial by jury.”

This provision of the 1986 constitution of Liberia lays the foundation for civic participation in the administration of justice in our country and it is predicated upon this provision and as a result of extensive judicial reforms that the Office of Jury Management was established through an amendment of Section 23.1.1 of chapter 22 of the Civil Procedure Law on May 22, 2013.

The Jury Management Office oversees matters pertaining to jury management, specifically charged with the responsibility for jury selection, organizing the central jury pool and ordering the number of jurors necessary for the functioning of Circuit Courts. It also provides education to prospective/selected jurors about law and legal processes and helps them understand their civic duties in the administration of justice as citizens of the Republic of Liberia.

The jury system provides all parties the opportunity to have their case heard before a group of citizens and allows those citizens to participate in the judicial process.

The Jury Management Office has been established in eight (8) of the sixteen (16) judicial circuits to date; namely; Montserrado County (1st Judicial Circuit), Brand Bassa County (2nd Judicial Circuit), Grand Gedeh County (7th Judicial Circuit), Nimba County (8th Judicial Circuit), Bong County (9th Judicial Circuit), Lofa County (10th Judicial Circuit), Bomi county (11th Judicial Circuit), and Margibi County (13th Judicial Circuit).

The Jury Management Office is managed by a National Jury Manager who is appointed by the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court, and reports to the Court Administrator to supervise, manage, monitor and coordinate the work of the central office.

Click below link……